“Day Zero” at E3 [EA]

E3  Today at E3 it was technically day one but what the media is calling it is ‘day zero’. It is the day where the big franchises showcase their new projects, leak critical information, and leave gamers wanting more. It is the perfect tease for any one who wishes to know what is in store for the future of the next generation consoles. From Microsoft to PlyStation, from Bungie to NaughtyDog, there were some amazing showcases for the start of this amazing event. Unfortunately I was unable to be there (this year) however the lovely group Twitch is broadcasting every event that is happening live on their website twitch.tv/e3.

If you cannot be there then you need to get on this site.

The times have been listed on this blog, and I am continuing to update. After watching the press conferences today, I would like to touch upon one that I was fully involved in from minute one (sorry Microsoft I will touch on your conference soon).  But let me cut to the chase: EA had my attention. I am an avid player of their FIFA titles, NHL titles, and almost every Battlefield going back to Battlefield 2 (yes on PC). I wanted to start off ‘Day Zero’ with a trip to the EA conference first, and then walk you through Ubisoft and then Sony in two separate posts. electronic_arts_ea_mobile  Electronic Arts took the stage under a highly anticipated showcase light. With titles ranging from their sports genre, to their  fps (first person shooter) platform, EA has delivered. I, a giant Battlefield gamer, was stolen from the Call of Duty franchise when EA linked up with Frostbite to deliver one hell of a punch to the FPS community. If I didn’t like the building obstructing the objective I simply aimed my RPG or my tank cannon and fired away until I was able to walk through the building much more effortlessly as well as eliminating any lurkers. When I was logging on to watch the live stream presented by Twitch, I was hoping for a possible new preview of Battlefield: Hardline. What I got was a full hour of gameplay coverage followed by interviews!

BF HArdline EA teamed up with a company called Visceral, and for those who don’t know they created this little ditty called ‘Dead Space’. Granted the two genres are different, but they both share a love for the FPS. One is killing the undead by any means necessary, and the other is a take on modern combat in a modern war setting. Unbelievably you cross the two and get a wonderful love child of cops v.s robbers with amazing detail and ultimate destruction! Hardline is featured in a cityscape of L.A. A very metropolitan location set in modern times. Instead of fighting a war against Russians, Chinese or Americans as you would in Battlefield 4, the objectives revolve around heists, or defending what is being heisted. Whether you are a cop protecting the loot, or being a robber and stealing the loot, both sides are free to blow up anything they want! But of course one stands on a higher moral ground than the other…

EA Leaves it up for you to decide whether or not you want to be in pursuit of the robbers, or be the robbers enacting the heist. Either way, there is seemingly no wrong choice. Robbers Hardline Cops HardlineIn anticipation of the release, the beta has gone live for ps4 users today, but does have a limit to downloads and you must own Battlefield 4 already to access it. Aside from that, if you don’t meet the prerequisites to do battle in the beta, just sit tight and wait until October 21st of this year! Thanks to the generous mind of Sean McIninis I was able to get some much needed insider info for the game, and the multiplayer game modes themselves. I will be diving into this game at a later date once I am able to get my hands on it because right now I can only preach about how amazing the gameplay LOOKS, and how excited I am to PLAY it. So I will hand it off to Sean to explain it in his wonderful, in depth look at the EA studios. Please follow this link if you want first hand insight into the new EA, Visceral, experience. And of course its run with DICE!

 www.gamespot.com/articles/e3-2014-everything-you-need-to-know-about-battlefield-hardline/1100-6420088

The fun does not stop there! EA also announced their sports title releases for the ps4 including NHL15, PGA Tour (which I have my reserves over), Madden 15 and of course FIFA 15. The most notable changes of their sports series is seemingly Madden 15.Madden15 Now personally I have not picked up a Madden game and played it for fun since Madden 2008 and that is a rough guess. The main reason why is because I just cannot play the offense and without offense you are nothing. We all know that. But at the E3 conference EA announced that the defensive aspect of the game will be reinforced and modified to make it so defense is… its fun to play. With newly installed camera angles, and defensive tactics, holding up the defensive line should be easier maintained as well as advantages at times. Whther you want to hold the offensive line up for your d-backs, or rush the passer with some Chandler Jones type plays the controller allows you to play it. The graphics are outstanding, and the gameplay looks as if it has taken advances in the right direction.  This adds the fun element that I am looking towards, but also keeping the always entertaining long ball for the the touchdown. Only difference with Madden 15 is that I am hoping to sack the QB before they throw that long ball! What I enjoyed about the presentation is it left me waiting for more. Wanting to play some football inside as opposed to tossing the old pig skin with the fam’.

Next on the docket is the NHL franchise. They have put out a stunning… stunning presentation of the next chapter in the series. Most notably the stadium. I know this sounds silly but they have introduced authentic looking stadiums that are packed with details that will make you question whether or not they have visited and followed each and every stadium’s blueprint to a ‘t’. The graphics are refined, but it all comes down to the gameplay. I know that many of you have reservations based off of the glitches in NHL14, which I can attest to, were bad and never repaired. Regardless, the playability will be there, and the graphics will keep you coming back for more and more, as far as I can see.  There will be a post stock full over these videos of which I shall link to this page. So please hold tight, and within a few short hours I will have the videos posted of all the EA sports games!

One title that did not escape without making some noise was the launch of Dragon Age: Inquisition.Dragon Age screen shot EA announced that this Title will be released October of this year, the 7th to be exact (without any delays reported). It is the third installment of this series, so one can only think if its the end of a trilogy, or the beginning of a saga. It is a party based fighting system, with four characters to battle with. There are two styles of combat that each player can interact within the game: one being the standard yet very reminiscent action style where the player can switch between each character (similar to that of Ni No Kuni) attacking at will; and the second style which is similar to that of Final Fantasy Tactics. The player will choose how the battle will be conducted and by whom. Now I am an avid player of RPG’s. Action RPG’s are my favorite kind of game style (if I had to choose). When I see something like Dragon Age: Inquisition in such a refined setting with an intriguing story line, I can’t help but want this game.

Dragon age inq

If there is an opportunity for me to gather a group and fight dragons, then sign me up.! This year, EA delivered. There is only one other game that has been highlighted today at ‘Day Zero’ that maybe have inched out Dragon Age, and that would be The Witcher III. Granted both games are set in two different universes, they both have a similar mystique to it with their creatures, environment and magic involved. Now most of these games, and by most I mean generally all, have similar character classes, moves, and monsters with each own’s individual twist. But Dragon Age introduces a party style fighting, and a tactical option that has been rarely used on consoles. EA could either start a new trend, or introduce to the next-gen console a blueprint on how not to carry out an action RPG game. There;s only one way to find out… PLAY IT!

Overall; EA’s conference was in my opinion a hit. A success. They got me wanting more than I anticipated and E3 has not even begun! Here on the East Coast we have less than 12 hours to go, and I know the party has begun in L.A. With this press release, EA has me paying attention, and storing money for game titles that I didn’t even think I wanted. Hell, I am even thinking about purchasing Mirror’s Edge II, and I haven’t even played the first one let alone had any interest in it. But when it released I didn’t catch on to the hype as easily as I have with the second edition. Honestly, the new games coming out have mind/retina-blowing graphics that can turn any bad storyline into an amazingly fun and intensely artistic experience. From the sporting arena to the age of dragons, EA has covered a lot of ground during their first press-conference and I am sure has much more in store. With E3 starting tomorrow the exhibits and previews will be pouring out faster than I can write them down and that is the exciting bit of the whole exhibition. So keep your eyes peeled and your fingers clicking here! I will have as much EA information as possible with links elsewhere to keep you informed!

-FBG[R]

Leave a Reply

